Free eBook Collections on the Web
- Bartleby.com
Classics and general reference works. - BibliomaniaFree online literature and study guides
- Classic Reader Read, search and annotate classic literature.
- Complete Works of William Shakespeare
- Digital Book IndexLinks to more than 145,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 100,000 of these are available free.
- eScholarship EditionsOver 500 titles from academic presses available for free. Look for "public titles".
- FreeBooks4Doctors

- Internet Archive:Text Archive
- Internet Classics Archive441 works of classical literature
- Librivox
800+ public-domain audio books. - National Academies Press

- NCBI Bookshelf
Biomedical books from the National Center for Biotechnology Information - Online Books PageListing over 35,000 free books on the Web. Includes Banned books online.
- Open LibraryWiki approach to an Open Catalog, with scanned books from the Internet Archive or links to online booksellers. Free access to the classics, plus a new lending model for more current titles.
- Page By Page BooksRead classic books online for free.
- Project Gutenberg
Books in the public domain now available online. - Project Gutenberg Consortia Center Over 75,000+ eBooks and eDocuments to choose from.
Google Books Search
Search within the whole book. Some of the titles offer the complete book online, others just snippets.
Licensed eBook Collections
Access GateWay's eBook Collections [Off-campus access: MEID + Library PIN number]
- Access over 6,000 current eBooks published by ABC-CLIO, GreenWood Press, Praeger and other publishers
- Create your own user account to save pages, add bookmarks and notes to books, and add to bookshelf
- Access over 70,000+ current eBooks from over 500 publishers in the Academic Complete collection.
- Enhanced QuickView web-based reader now incorporates many of the advanced features, including printing, copying, highlighting, & notes, under the InfoTools tab. Set preferences upon login (MEID/PIN) to specify citation format (MLA, APA, etc.)
- Free ebrary reader plug-in offers advanced features (printing, copying, citing, highlighting, infotools and notes). The plug-in may be downloaded from the ebrary website. No plug-in is required for QuickView.
- Login to YOUR ebrary account (MEID + Library PIN) to save pages, add notes, highlight book passages and create your own Bookshelf of favorites. eBooks can be viewed and a limited number of pages printed, without an account. No check-out required, allowing multiple readers to access the same title simultaneously.
- Interdisciplinary selection of over 1,800 eBooks chosen by the MCCCD Libraries
- Access an additional 3,400 titles in the public domain.
- Includes Cliff Notes for literature.
- Check out period is for 7 days with a personal EBSCOhost account, or brief 15 minute viewing without check out (no personal account needed).
- Previously NetLibrary
Licensed eBook Reference Collections
Access GateWay's Reference Ebook Collections [Off-campus access: MEID + Library PIN number]
-
Over 550 titles from dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature. Includes an image collection and Topic pages.
- An interdisciplinary selection of hundreds of reference titles, specialized subject encyclopedias, handbooks and more across a wide range of subjects.
Cross searchable medical encyclopedias from Salem Pess
- Genetics & Inherited Conditions
- Infectious Diseases & Conditions
- Magill's Medical Guide, 6th edition
- Salem: Cancer
- Psychology & Mental Health
Cross searchable historical ebooks from Salem Press
- The Decades Series: 1930s to the 1990s in America
- Great Events in History Series: Ancient World to the 20th Century
- Historical Encyclopedia of American Business
-
Milestone Documents
- Milestone Documents of World Religions
- Milestone Documents in African-American History
- Milestone Documents in American History
- Milestone Docuements in World History
Cross searchable literary ebooks from Salem Press
- Critical Insights (various titles in series)
- Critical Survey of Long Fiction, 4th edition
- Critical Survey of Poetry, 4th edition
- Magill's Literary Annual (35 year searchable archive of literary reviews & essays)
- Masterplots, 4th edition
Cross searchable science encyclopedias from Salem Press
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
- Encyclopedia of Global Resources
- Encyclopedia of Global Warming
- Forensic Science
HathiTrust
HathiTrust contains millions of digital books, journals, government documents, and other volumes, all digitized from research libraries. The collection includes both public domain and in-copyright works across a full range of subjects. Over half of the content is in English, but hundreds of languages are represented, including large amounts of material in German, French, Chinese, Russian and Spanish.
Limit search to Full View Only to get just works in the public domain.







Loading...
