This is the "eBooks" page of the "eBook Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

eBook Guide   Tags: ebooks, ebrary, electronic_books, gvrl, netlibrary  

Search for eBooks within our licensed eBook collections or explore the links to other free eBooks on the Web.
Last Updated: May 20, 2013 URL: http://libguides.gatewaycc.edu/ebookGuide Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

eBooks Print Page
  Search: 
 

Free eBook Collections on the Web

 

Google Books Search

Search within the whole book.  Some of the titles offer the complete book online, others just snippets.




 

HathiTrust

HathiTrust contains millions of digital books, journals, government documents, and other volumes, all digitized from research libraries. The collection includes both public domain and in-copyright works across a full range of subjects. Over half of the content is in English, but hundreds of languages are represented, including large amounts of material in German, French, Chinese, Russian and Spanish.

Limit search to Full View Only to get just works in the public domain.

 

Licensed eBook Collections

Access GateWay's eBook Collections  [Off-campus access: MEID + Password]

ABC-CLIO eBooks 

  • Access over 6,000 current eBooks published by ABC-CLIO, GreenWood Press, Praeger and other publishers
  • Create your own user account to save pages, add bookmarks and notes to books, and add to bookshelf

ebrary eBooks 

  • Access over 78,500+ current eBooks from over 500 publishers in the Academic Complete collection. 
  • Enhanced QuickView web-based reader now incorporates many of the advanced features, including printing, copying, highlighting, & notes, under the InfoTools tab.  Set preferences upon login  (MEID/PIN) to specify citation format (MLA, APA, etc.) 
  • Free ebrary reader plug-in offers advanced features (printing, copying, citing, highlighting, infotools and notes). The plug-in may be downloaded from the ebrary website.  No plug-in is required for QuickView.
  • Login to YOUR ebrary account  (MEID + Library PIN) to save pages, add notes, highlight book passages and create your own Bookshelf of favorites.  eBooks can be viewed and a limited number of pages printed, without an account.  No check-out required, allowing multiple readers to access the same title simultaneously. 

 EBSCO eBook Collection

  • Interdisciplinary selection of over 37,748 eBooks (1,800 eBooks permanent titles owned by the MCCCD Libraries)
  • Access over 3,400 titles in the public domain. 
  • Includes Cliff Notes for literature. 
  • Online checkout period is for 7 days with a personal EBSCOhost account, or brief 15 minute viewing without check out (no personal account needed).  Now with download option.
  • Previously NetLibrary
 

Licensed eBook Reference Collections

Access GateWay's Reference Ebook Collections [Off-campus access: MEID + Password]

Credo Reference Logo 

  • Over 600 titles from dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature. Includes an image collection and Topic pages.

 

  • An interdisciplinary selection of hundreds of reference titles, specialized subject encyclopedias, handbooks and more across a wide range of subjects. 

Salem Health eBooks  Cross searchable medical encyclopedias from Salem Pess

  • Addictions & Substance Abuse
  • Complimentary & Alternative Medicine
  • Genetics & Inherited Conditions
  • Infectious Diseases & Conditions
  • Magill's Medical Guide, 6th edition
  • Salem: Cancer 
  • Psychology & Mental Health

Salem History eBooks Cross searchable historical ebooks from Salem Press

  • The Decades Series: 1920s to the 1990s in America 
  • Great Events in History Series: Ancient World to the 20th Century
  • Historical Encyclopedia of American Business
  • Milestone Documents

    • Milestone Documents of World Religions
    • Milestone Documents in African-American History
    • Milestone Documents in American History
    • Milestone Docuements in World History
    • Milestone Documents of American Leaders
    • Encylopedia of Mathematics and Society

Salem Literature eBooks Cross searchable literary ebooks from Salem Press

  • Critical Insights: Authors (vasious titles in series)
  • Critical Insights: Themes (various titles in series)
  • Critical Insights: Works (various titles in series)
  • Critical Survey of Long Fiction, 4th edition
  • Critical Survey of Poetry, 4th edition
  • Critical Survey of Short Fiction, 4th edition
  • Magill's Literary Annual (35 year searchable archive of literary reviews & essays)
  • Masterplots, 4th edition

Salem Science eBooks  Cross searchable science encyclopedias from Salem Press

  • Applied Science
  • Earth Science (various titles in series)
  • Encyclopedia of Energy
  • Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
  • Encyclopedia of Global Resources
  • Encyclopedia of Global Warming
  • Forensic Science
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip