This is the "Home" page of the "Citation Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
How to Cite BOOKS, eBOOKSHow to Cite ENCYCLOPEDIASHow to Cite INTERVIEW, TV SHOW, & VHS/DVDHow to Cite MAGAZINES/JOURNALSHow to Cite NEWSPAPERS from DatabasesHow to Cite WEBSITESShortened URLs for Subscription Databases
How to Cite BOOKS, CHAPTERS, eBOOKSHow to Cite ENCYCLOPEDIASHow to Cite INTERVIEW, VHS/DVDHow to Cite MAGAZINES/JOURNALSHow to Cite NEWSPAPERS from DatabasesHow to Cite WEBSITESShortened URLs for Subscription Databases
How to Cite BOOKS, eBOOKSHow to Cite ENCYCLOPEDIASHow to Cite INTERVIEW, TV SHOW, & VHS/DVDHow to Cite MAGAZINES/JOURNALSHow to Cite NEWSPAPERS from DatabasesHow to Cite WEBSITES
How to Cite BOOKS, CHAPTERS, eBOOKSHow to Cite ENCYCLOPEDIASHow to Cite INTERVIEW, VHS/DVDHow to Cite MAGAZINES/JOURNALSHow to Cite NEWSPAPERS from DatabasesHow to Cite WEBSITES

Admin Sign In 

Citation Guide  Tags: citations mla apa plagarism annotated_bibliography  

A guide to create citations for bibliographies and works cited in research papers.
Last update: Feb 25th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.gatewaycc.edu/citationguide  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Research Assistance

If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the Reference Desk or contact the reference librarians via phone at 602-286-8458.

Reference Desk Hours:

M -Th 8:00 am to 8:00pm
Fri 8:00 am to 4:00pm

Sat. 9:00am to noon

Is it Plagiarism?

Here are some sites discussing Plagiarism...
 
 

Why Cite Sources?

Giving credit to the original author of thoughts, words, and ideas is an important ethical concept.

  1. To avoid PLAGIARISM: While a bibliography does not prevent plagiarism, it is an important tool in avoiding plagiarism.
  2. BUILDING on research:  Pertinent information is gleaned from the ideas of those who came before, and a researcher then produces new knowledge by integrating the ideas of others with her own conclusions. This is the scholarly research process.
  3. TRACING research: According to Joseph Gibaldi, the author of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, “in presenting their work, researchers generously acknowledge their debts to predecessors by carefully documenting each source so that earlier contributions receive appropriate credit” (104). This is the basis for all scholarship. It is important that researchers give credit so readers can trace the ideas presented back to the sources.
  4. CONTRIBUTING ideas: Your contribution, as a student, to disciplinary knowledge is the unique ways you interpret and synthesize the words, thoughts, and ideas of authorities. In fact, giving credit to experts and authoritative sources gives your conclusions validity that cannot be achieved by simply stating one's own opinions.
  5. LOCATING additional research: And that is another reason for citations: it allows readers to access the cited materials if they are performing research on that topic.

(Disclaimer: This Citation Guide is based on the template from Val A. Browning Library, Dixie State College: http://libguides.dixie.edu/content.php?pid=5025). Also, Jonathan Barber, GWC Library's Adjunct Library Faculty, contributed to updating the MLA and APA sections on this guide.)

 

 

My Profile

Profile ImageLili Kang
Contact Info:
Phone: 602-286-8461
Fax: 602-286-8459
email: kang@gatewaycc.edu

 

Ask A Librarian

Chat with a librarian 24/7 for immediate assistance.


Loading Video Clip...
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait