ESL News Sources
The Library has two print ESL newspapers in our ESL collection:
- Easy English NEWS
- News For You
The following ESL news sources are freely available on the Web:
- English ExpressCanadian news archive back to 2006, for adults improving their English reading skills. Publication suspended in 2011. Back issues still available.
- Learning Edge
- News For YouWeekly newspaper for adult learners. New online "Read and Listen" feature. [For current issue, input password from pg. 4 of print issue, available in the ESL collection in the Library].
- Simple English NewsRead and listen to the news and learn English in the process.
- VOA News: Special EnglishVoice of America's site for learning American English. Read along and listen to the audio report. At the same time you will learn new information about a variety of subjects from issues in the news to American history.
Comments (0)
Search Google
ESL Web Sites
- 1-Language.comLearn English online.
- 5 Minute English: ESL lessonsShort, easy explanations and exercises for learning English.
- Activities for ESL/EFL StudentsQuizzes, tests, exercises and puzzles to help you learn English as a Second Language (ESL)
- Adult Learning ActivitiesRead and listen to current issues, some with video option. California Distance Learning Project (CDLP)
- BBC: Learning English
- Daily ESL: Conversation Starters for English Students
- Dave's ESL CafeDave Sperling's compilation of resources for ESL + EFL teachers and students
- English as 2nd LanguageAbout.com
- English Daily
- English Listening Lesson Library OnlineListen to speaker's from all over the world to learn English naturally.
- ESL BluesActivities, tutorials and quizzes to test your skills.
- ESL PodcastFree podcasts, but there is a fee to access transcripts and guides. Podcasts cover business, health, and relationships and more.
- ESL Slang PageDave's ESL Cafe
- ESL: Idioms and Slang
- Everyday English in ConversationFocusEnglish.com
- EZ SlangSpeaking effective English and accent reduction training
- Free ESL Stories and Exercises100 free short English stories for ESL learners
with listening, grammar, comprehension, dictation exercises, and crossword puzzles - How to pronounce words and use them (by EmbedPlus)A multimedia pronunciation dictionary and English word usage API. Search for a word and not only get an audio pronunciation but also tagged videos of real people speaking and using the word in context.
- Interesting Things for ESL/EFL StudentsFun English study
- Internet Picture Dictionary
- Karin's ESL PartyLand
- Karin's ESL PartyLand, Quiz Center
- Learn EnglishWith audio and transliterations
- Learn English with Pictures and Audio
- Learning Vocabulary FunTest preparation and vocabulary building
- Linguistic Funland TESL PageResources for teachers and students of English
- Merriam-Webster Visual Dictionary OnlineFrom the image to the word and its definition. Search the themes to quickly locate words, or find the meaning of a word by viewing the image it represents.
- Merriam-Webster's Learner's DictionaryAmerican English Dictionary for ESL, EFL, and TOEFL Students
- Professor Meloni's ESL Study Hall
- Randall's ESL Cyber Listening LabMany general listening exercises listed by levels (easy, medium, difficult) covering dinner time, movie rentals, pizza delivery, phone messages and many more.
- Self-Study Quizzes for ESL Students
- Sounds of English: PronunciationPronunciation help, using pictures/photographs and sounds.
- TESL/TEFL/TESOL/ESL/EFL/ESOL LinksLinks of Interest to Students & Teachers of English as a Second Language. Maintained by The Internet TESL Journal
- ToLearnEnglish.com
- Train Your AccentESL Accent Reduction Training and Conversational English
Faculty Librarian |
Contact Info Ways to contact librarians: Chat with a librarian for immediate research help Call us at 602-286-8458, during the Library's open hours for assistance. E-mail us. Checked daily, Mon-Fri during the regular semester. Send Email |


Loading...
